Winners 2010

BoB Winners 2010

Phase 1 - The three most innovative business ideas!

39 teams from 11 countries and 2 continents contested in phase 1 of the competition - a strong signal for the innovative and entrepreneurial power in the life sciences! 17 projects belonged to Medical Technology, 15 to Red Biotechnology, 6 to Life Science specific services and 1to Bioinformatics.

37 BOB evaluators from 7 countries performed a total of 234 evaluations providing detailed feedback to the participants.

On April 29th, 2010, the three winning teams were presented to the public and awarded a cash prize of € 1,500 each at a ceremony held in the premises of Austria Wirtschaftsservice. 

AMBERwest - Andreas Kubin, Martina Zederbauer

Profem - Marion Noe

Sorbus - Frank Sams-Dodd

Phase 2 - The winners!

In phase 2, the best business plans were selected. In total, 25 teams from 7 different countries contested of which 11 to Medical Technology,  11 belonged to Red Biotech,  1 to Bioinformatics, 1 to Life science specific services and 1 to Green Biotechnology.

15 teams came from Austria, 4  from Germany, 2 from USA, 1 from Hungary, 1 from India, 1 from Poland, 1 from Singapore (60% Austria, 40% other countries). Of the 15 Austrian teams, 10 came from Vienna, 1 from Carinthia, 1 from Upper Austria, 1 from Salzburg, 1 from Styria and 1 from Tyrol. (67% Vienna, 33% other federal states).

In September 2010, the 10 best teams were preselected. Of those teams, 7 originated from Austria, 2 from Germany and 1 from Singapore.

The 10 best projects were invited to a coaching session on 15-16 September in Vienna, a two day intensive workshop. On October 20-21 an international jury selected the winners who were awarded the prizes on October 21 during the final award ceremony.

1st prize: Ayoxxa - Dieter Tau, Stephen Yeung and Andreas Schmidt

2nd prize: Xiber Science - Sonja Reingruber, Peter Petzelbauer and Michael Hoffmann

3rd prize: Blueline 3D - Jürgen Jesenko, Horst Koinig

LISA VR Medtech Award: Blueline 3D - Jürgen Jesenko, Horst Koinig